Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

Free Classical Music Download by A Violinist

According Reuters, a British violinist Tasmin Little will give away her next recording album free of charge online. To put in a "simpler term", she wants to SHARE her recording and lets people download it on the Internet for free. Tasmin Little got the idea from the pop group Radiohead, which for a period of time let its fans to choose how much they wanted to pay for its latest album, In Rainbos. The reason(s) she does that:

"I’ve done this with no intention of making money, but I feel very strongly that classical music suffers from misperceptions, and someone should be doing something real about it," Little told Reuters.
"I want to make it more accessible without downgrading the product, because you don’t need to put a beat to this music to make it work," she added in an apparent reference to popular cross-over acts that blend classical and pop genres.
"Just the fact that people can listen to it on a computer means that hopefully they won’t feel a need to have an education or be from a particular background or a certain sector of society."
Source: Reuters.com

I think putting free music on the Internet is a great way to promote certain music. As people sample the music, some will like it, and this creates fans and increases the size of the market and consumers. Speaking of my own personal experiences, because I dislike pop music played on TV and radio, I would never know and love many great music/singers/songs if not the Internet proves me the unconventional way to sample them. Moreover, most people don’t know Radiohead and Tasmin Little, but now I and many people have heard them and will sample their music.

However, I think the best way is to transfer any file on the Internet is through P2P networks – BitTorrent, Gnutella, ed2k/emule,etc. The reason is that hosting a server to transfer files costs money, and the costs can go up in relationship to the volume/bandwidth. Yet using P2P networks to transfer/spread files will cost her almost nothing, but create a great attention in the P2P world.

By the way, her album, The Naked Violin, which is releasing next week, will feature three pieces for unaccompanied violin — Bach’s Partita No. 3 in E Major, Luslawice Variations by Paul Patterson and Sonata No. 3 ("Ballade") by Eugene Ysaye. I don’t know much about classical music, so I have to admit that I don’t know these pieces of music, but I will certain download her music and see if I will like it or not. =)

5 responses to “Free Classical Music Download by A Violinist

  1. KKai January 14, 2008 at 16:17

    Angela:Do you know her?I know you know much about music and famous musicians than I do.I think when I saw her album on the Internet, I will let you know.I think you should be able to download it.

  2. Q January 14, 2008 at 10:54

    Hey, thanks for sharing. Nice!
    I don’t think I can get her album here in Taiwan.

  3. Joen January 10, 2008 at 14:22

    AGREE……=P

  4. KKai January 10, 2008 at 14:10

    Joen:Girls who know or can play music are always attractive. =PNot just girls. It can apply to anyone I think. *winks

  5. Joen January 10, 2008 at 14:05

    你怎么突然间想要培养一些音乐细胞啦!是不是最近喜欢上一个会音乐的女孩? XD

Leave a Reply

