Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

The Traveler IQ Challenge

Last night, I came across this game: Traveler IQ by TravelPod.
It is a game that tests one’s knowledge about the world – where a city and a country is located.  I have to say that I love the game because I feel that I am learning about geography by playing the game.  My first attempt yesterday received an overly embarrassing score around 250,000.  After a few more trials, I got about 340,000 scores and realized that I had to memorize all the countries in the world and their location on the globe.  Therefore, I looked up maps in different regions, especially Latin America, Africa, Central Asia, and East Europe, and tried to memorize as many countries and their locations as I could.  Last night, I spent most of my time studying and playing. (When was the last time you saw "studying and playing" together?)  For some unknown reasons, I was so obsessed about the game and getting higher score until this morning.  By then, I kept getting scores that was around 600,000.  Today, I simply played the game a few times, and here was my latest score after about 25 attempts since I began to play yesterday:

My latest score: 635,274
Rank at facebook: 9117 out of 1,562,761
Traveler IQ: 139

I hope you enjoy the game. Have fun and learn geography!
(Wondering why none of my facebook friends plays the game.)

Link: http://www.travelpod.com/traveler-iq

5 responses to “The Traveler IQ Challenge

  1. Michelle December 31, 2007 at 23:40

    Speaking of being obsessed hehe.. ;) Wow, u are good!! I just added that application to my face book. as well, I’m gonna keep working on it! lol i’m not good with the countries in Africa, i’m pretty good with Eurpoe.

  2. KKai December 31, 2007 at 08:27

    Oh he is good. =DI think after a few game, you will begin to learn places around the world=)

  3. Michelle December 31, 2007 at 06:12

    ok i did it, kev and I spent about 45 mins playing it… he, of course made it all the way through. I made it to level 6! got 159,923 pts.

  4. KKai December 31, 2007 at 00:03

    So what do you do? XDI know most Americans need to study geography.I think once you are good at this game, you can impress your friends very much … lolI remember one time one of my friends in college was working on his project, and he had a satellite imagery with no label. I just happened to check on him and picked up the satellite imagery, looked at it upside down, and said, "Oh, this is NY Long Island." And of course, he was quite impressed by that … lolRight now, I feel so "proud" of myself because of the game because when I watched the news and read news sites, I know exactly where countries and cities are … No long do I merely have a vague idea where these places are — like oh it is somewhere in Africa or central Asia or Latin America.Ha, … sorry. I can help it, but be just extremely happy about the result after playing the game. =)

  5. Michelle December 29, 2007 at 15:22

    ooo that looks like a fun game to try! I’ll have to do it when I have some time to become obsessed with it hehe.

Leave a Reply

