Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

My “Black Monday”

I think I can’t talk about Black Monday without first explaining the Black Monday.

Black Friday is the day after the American thanksgiving, and it marks the beginning of the traditional Christmas shopping season. Black in financial term is referred as turning profit. In the news, Black Friday is said to be the busiest retail shopping day of the year (although it may not be the true). In the online shopping world/retail market, however, the busiest shopping day begins on the Monday immediately following Black Friday, which nowadays is commonly known as Cyber Monday or Black Monday, which again it may not be THE busiest online shopping day either.

My "Black Monday", on the other hand, is not a shopping day. In fact, I dislike shopping (or more specifically the wasteful lifestyle and the throw-away culture) so much that I would only shop unless I must (or there could be some serious/unwanted/unpleasant consequences as if dying from starvation, being killed by my friends, or public embarrassment). Anyway, this Black Monday for me is to check if my diet "plan" works. Actually, there is no "plan", but I simply apply the knowledge I have about starchy diet. Why did I want to diet in the holiday season? The reason: Most Americans gain weight in the holiday season — from Thanksgiving to Christmas, and the excessive weight can accumulate year by year resulting overweight and even obesity. A report shows that Americans eat about 4400+ calories on the Thanksgiving. Therefore, this Thanksgiving my diet plan was simply to avoid food that are high in carbohydrate and eat as little carbohydrate as I could — commonly known as the Low Carb Diet or the low carbohydrate diet, and I would still eat meat, the thanksgiving turkey, vegetable, and fruit as much as I wanted. It was not a strict plan, and I think I did stay away from rice, noodle, bread, and some starchy food, but still had some sugar in my coffee, some potato chips, and "some" chocolate. However, for me and my family, it was like having a thanksgiving dinner every single day from Wednesday to Sunday, so I was a bit nervous to check how much weight I gained over this thanksgiving weekend.

The result: In my Black Monday night, I finally had a chance to stand on my scale, and it was 164.5 lbs. Yay!! My weight before the thanksgiving is about 164 +/- 2 lbs, so I couldn’t be happier. Although according to my Body Mass Index (BMI) I am still within the healthy weight, my ultimate goal is to reduce my weight down to about 150 lbs. I think it has now become my life style. =)

Image Source: websearch.about.com & blog.tagmycity.com

6 responses to “My “Black Monday”

  1. KKai November 28, 2007 at 19:59

    Karen:Their reactions are understandable … =)Perhaps, they have never had a thanksgiving in the US before, but you, on the other hand, have.=)

  2. KKai November 28, 2007 at 19:53

    幸福聆聽:It was the first time that I had fried turkey on the thanksgiving or ever …I only remembered it was a tasty bird … XDI think next year we will probably fry the thanksgiving turkey again.I sort of think that it is better than a baked turkey … XD

  3. KKai November 28, 2007 at 19:50

    Joen:I know it is a bit funny if you know where to look … like "some" chocolate …

  4. Joen November 28, 2007 at 12:50

    Kkai:
    This blog is sound funny……GooD LUCk…..
    The grill chicken/ turkey look very delicious……Yummy. I tell you I have plan to cook this yummy grill chicken in X-mas for my housemate…=P~~~

  5. Chelin November 28, 2007 at 09:49

    好好吃的烤雞…想必你是懷著一顆感恩的心享用吧!?

  6. Karen November 27, 2007 at 16:40

    I didn’t do anything for thanksgiving day because of the only reason that  I’m in china.  When I said to my chinese friend ‘Happy Thanksgiving~’ with smile and happy heart, His answer was ‘Thx, But I’m not american, Why i should celebrate thanksgiving?’ AND THen I SAID ‘I’m sorry…though I just like anniversary…’ This year’s thanksgiving was so melancholy. Anyways..I think happy thanksgiving with yummy turkey and family is better than being obsessed with diet. ^^;

Leave a Reply

