Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

An Explanation for Sexy, Lacy Underwear Images

Image hosting by PhotobucketNowadays, on TV it is full of sexy images of ladies in underwear. This ‘phenomenon’ is likely originated on an old idea of that, "sex sells", backed by statistics.  I often question the reason behind this unnecessary exposure of flesh on TV.

Maybe for the 50% of viewers, it is probably good to see those images, and for the other half of viewers, they want to be like those women?  [For those who feel being included or excluded by this generalizing statement, please don’t take this statement seriously and offensively, I said that in a joking matter (with a great care, of course).]  Now we may have an answer to the half of viewer population.  Let’s for now ignore the half of wanna-be viewers, a study shows just how those images can affect the judgment of the good-to-see-them viewers, that is, males.

Quote:

It seems that the more macho a man is — at least according to his hormones — the more the sight of an attractive woman will affect his judgement.

Researchers at the University of Leuven in Belgium asked men to play an ultimatum game, in which they split a certain amount of money between them. High-testosterone men drove the hardest bargain — unless they had previously viewed pictures of bikini-clad models, in which case they were more likely to accept a poorer deal.

The sight of flesh had less effect on the bargaining tactics of low-testosterone men.

Click to read the complete article (source) here.

The study concludes that high-testosterone men tend to lose their judgment when exposing to sexy images.  Even though I wonder what effects of sexy images can have on high-testosterone women, a number of interesting questions can we still ask ourselves (as men).  For example:  Do we, as men, reason as rationally as we should?  Do we come to any conclusion according to our rational mind? Or, the level of testosterone?  Is it good to be a manly man? Or, is it better to be a girly man?  Is it a good idea for a male boss to have a hot, sexy secretary? …

I won’t, however, provide any answer to these questions, but the next time when I make any kind of judgment, I will definitely observe my environment and see whether or not unnecessary exposure of flesh presents which can potentially have an negative effect my ability to make a good bargain.

~KKai
[Btw, if you spent more time looking at the image than reading this article, you probably had been affected. :D ]

7 responses to “An Explanation for Sexy, Lacy Underwear Images

  1. KKai April 25, 2006 at 05:59

    Kitty:
     
    I was just dropping a bombshell and ran for cover … XD
     
    Nothing worthy of mentioning … :P
     
    Glad that you did not take it offended, personal and were open for suggestion. :)

  2. KKai April 25, 2006 at 05:52

    Michelle:
     
    Have you heard a pastor named Mike Bickle in Kansas City?
    You can read about IHOP (I know what you are thinking, but no, it stands for Internetal House of Prayer).
    http://www.ihop.org/Group/Group.aspx?id=16999
     
    "One Thing" is the name of their conferences ..
    This, I mean, the passed weekend, they had a conference in the Sacraomento area, and I was attending it. :)
     
    The name, "One Thing", should come from Psalm (詩篇) 27:4
    "One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple."
     
    (Just wish that you could be there also … :D)

  3. E April 25, 2006 at 05:50

    Oh Kkai… :)You have no idea, … your compliment means alot to me.I am happy you like it.Partly thanks to you for providing me with your honest input.More than anything, I understood what you meant when you said it was hard to read.So since then I re-attempt to design it, so that it could be more readable…
    So thank you for part take in the production :)Most appreciate it,♥ Kitty

  4. KKai April 25, 2006 at 05:40

    Kitty:
     
    Love your new design …
    Maybe I should steal some of your codes … :D
     
    J/K … I probably won’t bother to spend the time to do it :P

  5. E April 24, 2006 at 00:18

    Thanks for the quiz suggestion, I did took it. I posted them if you like to read them.see ya,♥ Kitty

  6. Michelle April 22, 2006 at 14:03

    Humm…. no i havn’t heard of "one thing" what is it?

  7. E April 22, 2006 at 03:48

    Always like reading your entryYou come up with interesting stuff :)Thank you for your input on my space.I really apreciate it very much.I could always count on your honest opinion and finding.I trully apreciate it :)Thank you and see you,♥ Kitty

Leave a Reply

