Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

National Geographic: Frantic Flight

This is an astonishing image that I came as I read National Geographic Magazine (Feb 2006 issue).  I don’t know how to desribe the amazement I had when I saw this image – the raging river, mighty waterfall, and thousands of birds filled the sky. Moreover, imagine all the sounds – the sound of water, the sound of birds, and the sound of helicopter.  That is the reason that I share the image so that you can also see it for yourself.  Also, if you like the image, you can download the wallpaper from National Geographic.

Image hosting by Photobucket
Photograph by Sérgio Brant Rocha
From "Visions of Earth," National Geographic, February 2006

Quote:  Nature’s forces mingle as thousands of great dusky swifts dart in and out of Dardanelos Falls in the Amazon Basin.  The birds nest on rocky ledges behind the wall of water.  When our helicopter disturbed them into frantic flight over the thundering 426-foot (130-meter) fall, I was at first paralyzed by the sight.  Then I quickly began to shoot.


24 responses to “National Geographic: Frantic Flight

  1. pay February 24, 2006 at 14:23

    我來看看你啦~
    今天是開心的星期五夜晚…
    因為2/25~2/28有連著4天的假期~
    開心…等我玩回來再分你看照片喔~
    希望你也擁有一個愉快的週末假期喔~

  2. pay February 22, 2006 at 00:42

    *╭╮ ╭╮  ╭╮  ││ ││  │└╮ ╭┴┴─┴Ⅲ╮~└─╯ │ ﹋ ﹋ │   ╭──────╮ │ ∩ ∩ │ ╭╮│我來看看囉    │ │  ▽  │O╰╯╰──────╯ ╰─m∞m─╯
    有個廣告詞..挺貼切的..
    再忙都要跟你喝杯咖啡~
    ╮ ╮ ╮  ╰ ╰ ╰┌───────┐│       ├╮│▓▓▓▓▓▓▓│││▓▓▓▓▓▓▓│││▓▓▓▓▓▓▓├╯╰───────╯
    忙了點…可是..喝杯咖啡的時間還是能抽出來給你的喔~..^__^…

  3. Joyce February 18, 2006 at 23:54

    臭老頭 ˋˊ

  4. 紫色小茉莉 February 18, 2006 at 10:39

    我還沒有個人網頁,也許先看大家的設計再作吧!這音樂好振撼喲!
    為什麼是變色龍呢?你再保護什麼?害怕什麼嗎?
    你引述話題是想給大家動動腦嗎?
    我問問題是想啟動你更寬的思域!
     
     

  5. KKai February 18, 2006 at 10:19

    Joyce:I expect to see the worse on your space … XDBut, oh well …We are just chatting … :)

  6. KKai February 18, 2006 at 10:17

    Michelle:No, I did not even know about red eye flight before you shared. :pHowever, I have been on flights that are longer than 10+ hrs, and I have never, ever fell asleep on an airplane. I don’t know. Maybe I just can’t sleep in a closed, small space while many other people are sitting, sleeping, snoring, whatever-ing around me.

  7. KKai February 18, 2006 at 10:12

    星:You can read my profile to see my information.Do you need translation as some readers here?By the way, do you have your own blog?

  8. KKai February 18, 2006 at 10:09

    允涵:
    Please don’t reply on the online translator.
    因為常常會翻譯得很好笑 XD

  9. 渝兒 February 18, 2006 at 07:43

    哈囉~~好久不見ㄋㄟ~~
    真開心你的網誌可以用中文看耶!
    以往我再怎麼努力都看不懂的說~
    痾~就這樣~~希望你事事順心喔~~

  10. Joyce February 18, 2006 at 05:39

    留言……..太經典了…
    你要好好保留住那些有笑點的人喲
    醬才會讓你這死沉悶的space來點幽默~

  11. 紫色小茉莉 February 17, 2006 at 20:07

    Hi :     How   are      you?
    我叫王星兒在台語長老教會聚會.and  U?
     

  12. Michelle February 17, 2006 at 16:47

    hahaha….. Yeah, IF I had a laptop… thats what i would do. hehe… i think i’ll just be listening to my ipod… and maby read a book… idknow… it will be exciting new flying experence.. i love flying at night… looking down at all the lights from the passing citys… cool cool.. =)
     
    Have u ever flew on a Red eye flight b4?

  13. KKai February 17, 2006 at 11:00

    Hi, 星:
     
    How do you do?
    Do you mind introducing yourself first?
     
    Yes, I am a Christian.

  14. 紫色小茉莉 February 17, 2006 at 09:43

    你好:請問你是基督徒嗎?你在那一個教會?
     
     

  15. E February 17, 2006 at 07:09

    Hey,
    I gathered you are feeling less cheerful (hope am wrong)If you are, Cheer up Sunshine ;)Am here you show you that smile is wonderful or even just a smerkTake care friend

  16. 雅芳 February 17, 2006 at 04:43

    我第一眼看到這圖
    第一個感覺…恐佈
    因為我不知道那一點一點黑鴉鴉的是啥東東
    多的嚇人…..呵
     

  17. KKai February 16, 2006 at 10:33

    Joen:It is KKai, not Kkai …Two capitalized "K", okay?XD

  18. KKai February 16, 2006 at 10:31

    屬靈的人:Is there anything in your own word that you can comment and add beside copying and paste?Anyone can quote Bible verses, but not everyone has revelation.

  19. KKai February 16, 2006 at 10:22

    Kitty:I really hate any holiday that has been heavily commercialized …Like … Christmas, Valentine’s day, Mother/Father’s day, Halloween, …(That seems to include all the holiday … XD)Maybe I am more of intrapersonal.

  20. 紫色小茉莉 February 16, 2006 at 07:31

    我們所領受的
    並不是世上的靈
    乃是從    神來的靈
    叫我們能知道    神開恩賜給我們的事
    並且我們講說這些事
    並不是用人智慧
    所指教的言語
    乃是用聖靈所指教的言語
    將屬靈的話
    解釋屬靈的事
    或將屬靈的事講於屬靈的人
     
     
     
    哥林多前書二章十二到十三節

  21. E February 16, 2006 at 05:35

    Yeah, I am in your camp… XDThe 1st year after 8 yrs without a Valentine…I feel absolutely fine though… No preasured at all to try to plan a memorable V day … Just me myself and I… I did pampered myself and in a ways that I had my Valentine’s day with myself…Its so much nicer to just put all my effort to pamper myself… I felt so peacefull and just chuckled (watching people trying their best to pretend to their lovers that they have the best valentine day)… Ah.. I admit though I am a bit jaded ;P

  22. Joen February 15, 2006 at 10:03

    Kkai:
    Only one word can describe it – AMAZING…but it seem unreal.  XD

  23. KKai February 15, 2006 at 07:39

    Pay:

    Thanks for the msg (even thought it has never been my day).

    XD

Leave a Reply

