Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

Mental Health and Diet

A study suggests that changes to diets over the last 50 years can be a key role in the rise of mental illness, and nowadays people generally eat less fresh food and more saturated fats and sugars.  This can lead to depression and memory problems.

Image hosted by Photobucket.comDepression – Linked to low intakes of fish – high in omega-3 fatty acids which are essential for good brain health.
Schizophrenia – Epidemiological evidence has shown sufferers have lower levels of polyunsaturated fatty acids, unclear though what changes need to address this.
Alzheimer’s disease – Some studies have suggested high vegetable consumption can protect against the brain disorder.
ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) – Research shown children with disorder are low in iron and fatty acids.
Source: BBC.

I think people should eat fresh food instead of processed food and refined sugars.  It is so easier/quicker to live on frozen food or TV dinners using microwave oven than making effort to cook some fresh produces.  I still hope that this blog can be a remind to eat healthy and stay healthy, and having fresh food is always the best way.

~KKai

26 responses to “Mental Health and Diet

  1. Joyce January 23, 2006 at 06:43

    喔喔~又懂了些東西你找些熊潛水的資料來寫嘛那可愛多了

  2. KKai January 22, 2006 at 22:16

    Pay:Thank you.It is very nice of you. :)

  3. KKai January 22, 2006 at 22:15

    Angela:I think I will write a blog about the "mind reading ability" and make a "demostration" after I took a nap … XDBelieve it or not.Even you can do that.

  4. pay January 22, 2006 at 16:00

    累了嗎?來杯熱玫瑰花茶吧….╮ ╮ ╮  ╰ ╰ ╰┌───────┐│       ├╮│▓▓▓▓▓▓▓│││▓▓▓▓▓▓▓│││▓▓▓▓▓▓▓├╯╰───────╯冷冷的天,送上小小的溫暖…願你擁有美好的每一天~

  5. Q January 22, 2006 at 15:18

    Few month ago, a friend of mine told me that you can read my mind~What do you think? XDYes, you are right~ I do love myself more~^^

  6. E January 22, 2006 at 09:12

    Oh… I failed to go to bed early again,well… since I am here,I hope you have a fun weekend,catch you later.♥[Kitty]

  7. Michelle January 21, 2006 at 14:51

    lucky i wish all my dreams were of flying.. there mostly of searching for somthing (kinda like a big adventure movie where stuff goes wrong and i have to figure out what the heck i’m doing here and try to fix stuff… very exausting lol)

  8. Rose January 21, 2006 at 06:51

    瘋迷夾娃娃的pay:那可能用買的所花的錢好比較少一點@@在此代替娃娃機的廠商跟你致謝~沒想到夾娃娃,會是那麼刺激的活動@_@我只有偶爾玩一下而已賭性沒有那麼堅強

  9. pay January 20, 2006 at 12:50

    為了你說我搞失蹤..所以..我決定在你這發表一篇"夾娃娃心聲"這真的是一種慧上癮的行為…剛開始是因為…我的工作壓力太大…那陣子幾乎每天工作將近16個小時…只有吃飯休息的1個小時…時間不夠逛街購物….來發洩壓力…又無法去ktv唱個過癮….發現當你夾到娃娃的那種成就感…..只有"爽"來形容…可是當你已經在那投入不少錢…卻一直沒夾到…又不甘心便宜下一個夾的人…..因為你已經幫那個娃娃翻身很多次了…就會發狠…死命的在那跟夾娃娃機台奮鬥….心臟狂跳…身體會發熱冒汗….是個急速讓你消耗熱能的刺激性活動….所以…我就沉淪在這種高刺激性活動中…也讓我繳交不少學費…..以上..是我&夾娃娃機台結下身後感情的過程…不知道…這樣的說明你了解嗎??我想…你沒親身體驗…很難理解吧…呵呵…

  10. E January 20, 2006 at 08:41

    Just checking on you ;)See what you up to…… Saying ‘Hello’ mostly…

  11. Joen January 20, 2006 at 06:09

    是吗?好难相信哦!看来你已经开始修身养性,效果看起来蛮不错的。哈哈!

  12. KKai January 19, 2006 at 16:24

    Jenny:Sorry.I think it is my natural tendency.Beside, there are many types of blogs.Some write diaries; some post computer tricks; some do web designs; others online journal.I happen to write everything a bit, or shall I say everything that I interest a bit in attempt to show the unique makeups of I myself. *winks

  13. KKai January 19, 2006 at 16:01

    Pay:Sorry to hear that.Take a good care of yourself

  14. KKai January 19, 2006 at 16:00

    Joen:Quite the opposite.I feel blessed. XDAs the result and most people who know me can imagine, I have spent much more than in the thing that I love to do all the more, yet as usual, I cannot have it enough, meaning that I want to do it even more. Quite unexpected to you, isn’t it? :D

  15. KKai January 19, 2006 at 15:58

    What troubles me is that everything works properly except my MSN Messenger. Everything means everything — broswers and other online applications/programs. I did uninstall and reinstall MSN Messenger, yet the problem remains. To me, it is very strange indeed.Anyone here happens to know how to fix the error 80048883? XD

  16. pay January 19, 2006 at 14:16

    我沒有搞消失拉~我感冒了…現在在努力用睡眠抵抗病毒..所以沒有多點的時間搞網誌…所以沒有多點的時間亂逛blog…所以..我沒有失蹤拉~

  17. Joen January 19, 2006 at 09:48

    没想到那么‘不幸‘的事情发生在你身上,那么你的日子一定很难过吧! XP

  18. E January 19, 2006 at 09:24

    Oh…Although, I don’t communicate to you by msn massenger…Hope your computer is fix soon…Till later.

  19. ROSE January 19, 2006 at 00:56

    難怪哦~想說你怎麼消失了~

  20. KKai January 18, 2006 at 11:54

    Today something went wrong with my computer, and currently, I am unable to use MSN Messenger. Yet luckily, I can still connect to the Internet using broswers and other programs. You guys can communicate to me throught email and/or by commenting here. Okay? *winks*winks

  21. Joen January 18, 2006 at 10:25

    我想你是时候自己种菜和开农场了,那么才能确保你所有的饮食新鲜。如此一来,再过一百年你肯定还活着,将会成为这个世纪的奇迹。XD

  22. E January 18, 2006 at 09:07

    >> I think I am a very different type of person to you.You could be correct… and that’s ok. You are that way and I am this way, the better we could share our experiences. If we both realized that, then the more fun we could have to walk this life together in sharing our views.All we have to do is respect each other, communicate well and give each other willingness to be each other companion.;) how about that?

  23. E January 18, 2006 at 06:27

    :) for now,I’ll be back ;)

  24. KATIA January 18, 2006 at 02:58

    ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius — and a lot of courage — to move in the opposite direction." Albers Einstein♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧ ♣ ♧Heart KissesK

  25. j January 17, 2006 at 14:30

    ur blog always looks like an essay rather than sumthing abt everyday life.

Leave a Reply

