Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

Rainbow Bomb

Rainbow bomb — The name came from high-altitudes nuclear explosions (HANEs) tests code-named Starfish Prime which could sent a strong, disruptive electonmagnetic pulse (EMP) sweeping through the vast region below the blast, so devastate communications, electronics and all sorts of systems, and create aurora-like scene in the sky. Thus, it was called "rainbow bomb".
Note: I do NOT support any nuclear tests nor any nuclear weapons.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Yesterday (July 21), a cloudy day, light rain in some areas throughtout California. This type of weather is unusual as many of my readers should have known. As I finished backing-up some data and then wrote "rainbow bomb" on a CD, a young boy, who was my neighbor, outside of my window suddenly shouted, "Rainbow! Rainbow!" I pauses and turned to look out from my window — a rainbow in the distant sky. "Hmm, I hadn’t seen a rainbow for many years," I said to myself. It was beautiful, but slowly a distant memory began to upwell:

It was many, many years ago, when I was still in high school and still lived in Taiwan. After a summer, afternoon thunderstorm, a rainbow was forming in front of my eyes. It was about 100-150 meters/yards away from where I was standing. A few minutes later, another rainbow was forming underneath the first rainbow with a reversed color sequence. I quietly stood there and watched in amazement. After a while, the first rainbow slowly faded away in the cloudy sky, and then the second too began to fade from the one end in the sky to the other end that was touching down to railroad track, as if the rainbow was retreating into the ground. Again I recalled one other unique “rainbow” experience as I was searching in my memory one experience that could be compared to the double-ranbow experience.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
It was some years ago, when I was a student in community college in Sac, CA, USA. One night, I was taking trash out. When I stepped outside of the house, I found myself merged in a such bright moonlight, which lighted up both night sky and all my surrounding. This was rare enough. As I was walking to the trash can outside the house, I looked up, and I felt my jaw literally dropped. "Oh, it is so beautiful," I cried in my heart because I saw a rainbow encircled the moon — a “rainbow” in a completed circle. It was so beautiful beyond description. With no word to say, I stood there alone, watched and watched in silence. Overwhelmed by what I saw and the feeling of loneliness, I recalled someone once said, “Sharing secrets is nice, but what I really want is someone to share my life with …” That is what I wished, having someone to share the moment, to share the experience, and to share my life.

PS: The photo below is similar to what I saw.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
A bomb of rainbows went off and burst inside of my mind, it appeared, stirring up memories of colors, memories of awe and astonishment.

~KKai

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

10 responses to “Rainbow Bomb

  1. Michelle July 27, 2005 at 15:09

    Wow that must have been awesome…I love rainbows.. when ever there is one i always stop to look…

  2. Emma July 26, 2005 at 07:50

    those are such gorgeous pics!! where do you get all of those cool pics from?? and thats pretty cool if youve seen the things that you posted pics of!! id want to see all of that too!! :D

  3. Stephen July 25, 2005 at 12:56

    The pictures were nicely taken

  4. KKai July 25, 2005 at 03:48

    CorynnOh well …I don’t like LA for its pollution and bad traffic.The weather is too hot compared to SF .. :DAs for entertainments, I have to admit that yes there are many places to go, yet I am not the type of person who like to go to those places … so … :p

  5. Corynn July 23, 2005 at 14:11

    I like the weather in LA,little rainfall ‘n mild temperature!And,is it full of entertainments?As you saw in LA,what are the bad things there?

  6. Corynn July 23, 2005 at 14:02

    Those rainbows are fantastic!

  7. Elaine July 23, 2005 at 11:17

    amazing pictures

  8. Joyce July 23, 2005 at 10:09

    耶~ 這些照片很美唷至於你寫什ㄇ我懶ㄉ看 ^.^

  9. Kristine July 23, 2005 at 08:34

    I’m somehow fascinated by your space =)and about rainbow- i live in Latvia, so i can see a lot of rainbows now in summer and i agree- that’s amazing!! see ya! =))

  10. KKai July 23, 2005 at 06:53

    It is still unfinished … XDI spent too much time doing some research on "rainbow bomb".

Leave a Reply

