Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

25 Most Difficult Questions

Today I found a list of the 25 most difficult questions one could be asked on a job interview, so I decided to read them and tried to answer them for fun. I know maybe I should be at least a little nervous, but I am not nervous at this moment. Usually I get nervous in the last minute, which is usually too late to worry … lol. And those questions are:

  1. Tell me about yourself. Ans: I graduated from UCDavis last year majoring in Environmental Biology, and I strongly consider myself as an environmentalist and as someone who loves nature. I have a lot of experience with both computer hardware and software (*cough Mainly playing PC games too much to cause PC problems and then I had to fix it in order to play more.  This is how I have the experience.)
  2. What do you know about our organization? Ans: I only know a little bit about California Department of Fish and Game (Oooops!!); however, the courses I took mainly focused on federal government. (Maybe I should do some research about this department.)
  3. Why do you want to work for us? Ans: I like to learn more of statewide species and habitat monitoring efforts. (Shh! … I mean … I need a job to gain experience and $$$ of course.)
  4. What can you do for us that someone else can’t? Ans: From the position announcement, it seems that the department is looking for someone who are first very experenced in computer and are second knowledgeable concerning biology, ecology, and environment. (And, that is ME.) I know fairly well in these areas.
  5. What do you find most attractivie about this position? Ans: I can use what I have learned in school. (Unlike some people, what they learn in school is completely different to what they do later in theirl lives.) I know the goal of the department is to preserve bio/wildlife diversity in California, and it is what I like to do.
  6. Why should we hire you? Ans: (Is that your problem, or the quesiton that you sould ask yourself? Oh, well …!) I don’t know. (Damn it, I really can’t think of one good reason.) I would suggest you to hire the most qualified candidate.  That is, if you find someone better than I, hire him/her, and I will apply some other jobs. (Oh well, what can I say? If there is really one better than I. :D)
  7. What do you look for in a job? Ans: I focus on environmental jobs because I want to help preserve, protect, restore the environment. (*wink)
  8. Please give me your definition of [the position for which you are being interviewed]. Ans: (Stoooooooopid question! You should know it better. *cough Take our the position announcement and read … Oh, Wait! There is no definition.) I believe it is a job with a mission to collecti data and manage data that are collected from habitat and species monitoring. (I hope I read the correct one.)
  9. How long would it take you to make a meaningful contribution to our firm? Ans: (Can I have some meaningful questions, please?) I think as soon as my work starts, I will have meaningful contribution. (Oh, man! Did I just say what I said? I think I will skip the reasons to make this blog a bit shorter.)
  10. How long would you stay with us? Ans: The job is a short-term, part-time, which lasts 4 months. Maybe after that, I can apply for the full-time position in the department. (So, I may stay much longer than you ever want it. I mean be careful what you wish for … lol.)
  11. Your resume suggests that you may be over-qualified or too experienced for this position. What’s your opinion? Ans: (Yeah … I know, but ..) As I have said earlier, "I like to help preserve, protect, manage, restore environment and wildlife habitats. (You can’t get a good job without experience, and you can’t have experience without a job. What can I say?)
  12. What is your management style? Ans: I like to be fair, open, and delegating responsibility (when things go wrong … lol, j/k. It is just a part-time job, so no need to worry about this question.)
  13. Are you a good manager? Can you give me some examples? Do you feel that you have top managerial potential? Ans: (Skip, but the answer is YES, I am, and YES, I do have top managerial potential. :D)
  14. What do you look for when you hire people? Ans: (People whom I like … of course. Who else? Will you hire someone whom you don’t like?) Smart, open, teachable, friendly, and have ability to work independently and to work w/ a group of people (Yeah … I BS).
  15. Have you ever had to fire people? What were the reasons, and how did you handle the situation? Ans: (You mean in Sim2, setting sims, houses, firefighters, trees, fire trucks, but fire can’t kill police, police car, firefighters, fire truck. Or, give a headshot in first person shooting games? Hmm, it feels so good to make headshot, so maybe you should try it. … Skip, the question won’t be asked.)
  16. What do you think is the most difficult thing about being a manager or executive? Ans: Satisify every single person under me because there are always some trade-offs that needs to make, similar to most environmental issues. You simply can’t make everybody happy. (Even Jesus won’t do that.)
  17. What important trends do you see in our industry? Ans: (Globe warming … lol.) People should be getting more and more aware of environmental issues and imprtance (as they are hit by extreme weathers and violent nature due to globe warming).
  18. Why are you leaving (did you leave) your present (last) job? Ans: (My last full-time job was a student because I had to graduate. Skip!)
  19. How do you feel about leaving all your benefits to find a new job? Ans: (In term of money, my net benefit as a student is negative, and so I had to graduate to get out of that situation. Skip!)
  20. In your current (last) position, what features do (did) you like the most? The least? Ans: (I got to make my own schedule, did not have to show up on time or show up at all, but I did try to be on time and show up always to all of my classes. Btw, UCDavis is quite expensive. :D Skip!)
  21. What do you think of your boss? Ans: (My current boss is God, I think He is perfect, almighty, all known, loving, kindest, …. etc. Don’t mess up with Him. lol. Skip!)
  22. Why aren’t you earning more at your age? Ans: (In term of money or experience?) I am not looking for making big money when I decided to major in environmental biology, so what I like to do, instead of earning/gaining, I want to give it to nature and restore what has been lost. (Sweat!!!)
  23. What do you feel this position should pay? Ans: Honestly, I don’t know. (Of course, I mean as much as possible.)
  24. What are your long-range (-term) goals? Ans: To gain experience, which in the future possibly, hopefully lead to a full-time job.
  25. How successful have you been so far? Ans: In term of knowledge, I know great deal about computer, conservation, preservation, biology, etc. Making big money is never really my way to measure how successful I have been. (Err … personally, I don’t even strike to succeed.) I just hope that I can do what I like and be what I want to be regardless how successful other people think I am, which is my personal success.

Anyways, I hope these question can help some of you to learn how to answer those questionts, and of course, ignore my answers. I was just messing around and trying to make fun of the questions themselves.

Btw, I don’t think I will let the interviewer ask me these many questions. I myself will begin to ask him all kinds of questions about the job (in attempt to use up all the time), so he will not have to take out a list of questions to ask me, to kill time or to ask in the name of "asking something". So … kekeke … (If you see any mistakes, please correct me because I did not read this blog again, and it is about 3:10am. I need to get up at 9am. So people who are on my msn list and know my time nudge me between 8-9am, okay?)

Until the morning, good luck everyone :)

~KKai

4 responses to “25 Most Difficult Questions

  1. LU June 1, 2005 at 16:47

    喔,天呀,真佩服你有毅力跟耐性完成那些XXXOOO的問題在美國找工作可真不容易

  2. KKai May 31, 2005 at 22:55

    Thx everyone here.I updated the blog to answer your questions … :D

  3. Michelle May 31, 2005 at 20:33

    Hey! Sooooooo? How did the interview go? how did u feel? Hope u did well!!

  4. Tasha x May 31, 2005 at 17:29

    I know u r probably in your interveiw right now, but OMG those questions sound bloody hard :P I am so not looking forward to the day when I have to go to a proper strict interveiw… I mean.. what do you wear? how do you act? aaahhh! Well, u sure r alot more laid back about these things then me :PTasha xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

