Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

A Strange Animal (Carnivore)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

A few days ago, I watched a PBS program, the Secrets of Crocodile Caves, and learned about this wondrous place lcoated near the northern tip of Madagascar, Ankarana — its uniqueness and its beauty. Quote: " It is a spectacularly eroded limestone massif shot through with caves, forest-filled canyons, and underground rivers. Certain plants and animals found here, including a species of blind shrimp, live nowhere else in Madagascar, much less the world. There are also lemurs, chameleons, and the world’s only known cave-living crocodiles." Source: PBS Nova. (Be sure to check out the slide show to see some photos Here.)

Image hosted by Photobucket.comAnd of course, I also saw one of the strangest animal in the program. The animal/carnivore is called, foosa (Cryptoprocta ferox). The tradition way of looking at many predatory mammals is to see whether they are cat-like or dog-like, but foosa, in my opinion, has dog-like head/mouth and cat-like body. As you can see to the left, it does look like a bit both cat and dog. Female head-body size is 65-70cm, and male head-body size is 70-90cm. Females weight 5-7kg, and Males weight 6-10kg. Btw, "warm-blood" animal tend to get smaller body sizes in isolated island, but "cold-blood" animals tend to get larger body sizes. Hence not to my surprise, foosa is very small, yet it is the forest mammalian carnivore. Anyways, just look at those photos, and make your own guess before I give away the answer. :)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Is it a dog or hyena?
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Oh wow, what a tree climber!!
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Look at their hindlimbs (legs) and girdles!!
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Is it just me, or did I see a dog in the tree?
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Mini mountain lions?

In fact, biologists didn’t know what it was until recently they did a DNA comparison. Quote: "The foosa looks a little bit like a cat. It looks a little bit like a dog. It looks a little bit like a hyena. But it’s actually none of those things. The foosa’s actually a really big mongoose. It’s like a mongoose on steroids." Many biologiests were surprised by the result of course. I had fun guessing what it was too. :D

Last, be sure to support your local PBS channel so that they can keep producing good programs like this and we can keep learning and wathcing. ;) Btw, anyone wants to name his/her (future) pets foosa? I may. XD

Best wish,
~KKai

15 responses to “A Strange Animal (Carnivore)

  1. Tasha x June 1, 2005 at 19:05

    Yup. she is a very lovable doggy. :D and shes all mine, lucky me :D

  2. KKai June 1, 2005 at 06:55

    UK-Tasha,I have been thinking about your dog later … lolStill wondering why/how she climbs trees … :DI think I too love that dog.

  3. KKai May 31, 2005 at 21:17

    >>whats so gross about french kisses? Err … the exchange of "body fluid" … XpIn case, you are too young to know … XD

  4. Tasha x May 31, 2005 at 20:41

    No no, its not a french kiss. anyway, whats so gross about french kisses? :P

  5. KKai May 31, 2005 at 20:27

    Just the sound of it …But … an eatable kiss is …. french kiss …lol …. *cough … sorry …:p

  6. Tasha x May 31, 2005 at 19:53

    No! Wrong! Kisslz are not eatable.. unless you can somehow eat a kiss?

  7. KKai May 31, 2005 at 19:23

    I don’t know why …I keep feeling it is something eatable … :DLike … chocolate chips or something … :P

  8. Tasha x May 31, 2005 at 17:31

    Mine are better because they are Kisslz… from ME! :P

  9. KKai May 30, 2005 at 20:34

    >>Nova is better program~ I believeNova is part of PBS network. :)

  10. KKai May 30, 2005 at 20:32

    So … what is the different between the "regular" one than yours?lol … XD

  11. Txy™ May 30, 2005 at 18:01

    Nova is better program~ I believe~

  12. Tasha x May 30, 2005 at 12:31

    Yea.. Kissels, im not sure how I should spell it, like Kisslz or Kissles… Oh i dunno. :P

  13. KKai May 29, 2005 at 23:23

    kissels? …. You made it up?hmmm … Is it eatable? XD

  14. Tasha x May 29, 2005 at 20:58

    Oh wow. I think my dog might be part foosa (thats what it was called right?) she climbs trees :P So they are like moongooses on steroids? Okay.. Man I would love to see one of them lol. anyway.. I know ur not online right now and I know why, but incase U dont come online before I go offline I just wanna say I wont be online tommorow evening im going 2 be out all night. okay, talk later. Hugs and kissels (Its my new word, il explain l8r!)Tasha xxxx

  15. Tasha May 29, 2005 at 10:01

    foosa.. i need to look more into this…very interesting. I had no idea there was one either!

Leave a Reply

