Live, Learn, and Dream

A place to hold things that inspire, amaze, inform, and/or educate

My Worst Allergy!!

Cosumnes River Preserve:
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

:Warning: Some Graphical Descriptions:

Two days ago, I volunteered myself again for habitat restoration in Cosumnes River Preserve. The main task was to remove certain exotic plant species in the preserve. As the I worked, I began to sneeze, and my nose started running due the pollens (or seeds of grasses in the air because they all are wind pollinated). The worst sneeze was 3 times in 10 seconds. To get the matter worse, I would have rash as the grass brushed against my skin, and the type of grass was EVERYWHERE. Hence, I had rash upon rash. At the end of the day, my noses ran like a river, my eyes became red as blood, tears were on my face, and the exposed skin were thicken by rash in red. It was REALLY bad.

Later at night, I could not really sleep. My rashed skin and my red eyes were very itch. In addition, my noses were stuck, and I had to breathe through my mouth. I kept waking because my nature instant was to breathe in and out through my noses, yet I couldn’t do it. Thus, I often felt short of breath and then woke up, or sometimes I was waken by the sound of my snore. (I think you guys may not want to know more information of my noses in details — itch, rash, and of course lots fluid. :D) Beside, there seemed to be some symptoms of asthma. In sum, I was in great discomfort.

Now, I feel so much better. The reddish in my eyes is almost gone, the "fluid" from my noses nearly ceases, rash on my skin is still visiable, but is disappearing. The only thing still troubles me is the itch of my eyes and my skin. However, thanks God that I can finally sleep well in peace because now I can breathe smoothly with little or no "hindrance". And now, I can’t take anything for granted, not even the simplest act such as breathing. (It only means breathing is so natural to us as if it is the easiest, simpliest act. By no mean, the process of breathing is simple in term of physiological, bio-chemical, physical, mechanical processes involved)

PS: I know some of you may be thinking that my allergic reactions to a certain grass is nothing compared to theirs because theirs allergies almost killed them, (or they won’t be here reading my blog.) However, it is my worst by far. :(

Nevertheless, Cosumnes River Preserve is still a beautiful place.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

~KKai

6 responses to “My Worst Allergy!!

  1. KKai May 10, 2005 at 21:46

    Btw, thank you all for visiting my blog. :)

  2. KKai May 10, 2005 at 21:46

    HeavensPrinccess You should check out a photo of two cats, which I posted on March 31. :D

  3. KKai May 10, 2005 at 21:43

    littleolme2005On this page, there is a better map to show the location of the preserve on a Calfornia map — the red dot.A small preserve mainly provides habitats from migratory birds ;)And yeah, it is very close to where I live. :Dhttp://www.prbo.org/cms/index.php?mid=96&module=browse

  4. Tasha x May 10, 2005 at 16:21

    EEks! that sound rlly rlly painfull, U poor thing!

  5. Ismary May 10, 2005 at 16:07

    hey hey.. i got here because I saw you posted on mich’s space. I love the pics you have on your site, super cute yessssss

  6. Michelle May 10, 2005 at 14:09

    O my gosh! thats aweful! so ur ok now? where is Cosumnes River Preserve anyway?

Leave a Reply

